Bluebirds of Happiness and Photo Stress…

I spent the day today putting up birdhouses. We’ve had an unusual amount of bluebirds in the area lately. Well, perhaps not unusual… all I can say is, I’ve never seen so many before. Perhaps they’ve arrived early because of the mild winter, but we’ve been enjoying the show.

So today, I went to Lowes and bought 3 birdhouses, and some freeze-dried mealy worms. (Yeah, I know…. yum) And as I was drilling the boxes into fenceposts in my yard, I was daydreaming about being able to take beautiful close-ups of these rare and lovely birds when, and if, they decided to take up residence. That thought process turned to thinking of the other blog I started, where I am posting a daily photo each day of this year (366 Photos), and I started stressing out.
I started the blog as a challenge to myself to get out and take more pictures. I also limited myself to using my iPhone. I figured it would be more of a challenge using that technology, rather than relying on all the bells and whistles of the D90. I would focus more on composition and subject, and less on aperture and shutter speed for a fantastic image. Well, the past week has been extremely busy, and between hopping around New England, and loaning my iPhone to my son for a few days, I was WAY behind in the challenge. I found myself completely stressed out about not fulfilling that promise to myself.
It was then that I started laughing at myself. (I do that a LOT) Here I was, doing all the things I thought the challenge was going to help me with… getting out in the world, spending time in the outdoors, getting my overly large derriere out the front door of my house, and keeping busy and tuned in to life….. and I was stressing about my project. I was too busy having a lovely time to spend time online posting pictures.
So……
It’s over. I will not be continuing with the project. However…. stay tuned (hopefully) for lovely bluebird pictures taken with my Nikon D90, which has a kick-ass lens for getting in close to the action without disturbing my bird friends. 🙂

I also have a trip to Switzerland and Austria coming up, where taking a photo every day just won’t be possible. And there will be a long-delayed honeymoon to Jamaica where I hope to get some fantastic photos of flowers and Caribbean bird species which I will enjoy posting when time permits…. I look forward to stress-free and lovely blog updates…. and glass of course…. always glass.
To those who followed the other blog… Thanks SO much!
oxox

Leave a Reply

