William Morris- Glass Artist Extraordinaire…

A few weeks ago, I was visiting with family for a little Thanksgiving meal in Stockbridge, Massachuseets. One of my favorite places to hang out. Stockbridge is the little town way out in Western MA made famous by Arlo Guthrie in his song, “Alice’s Restaurant”. It’s a sweet town… a charming New England village. But right there in the center of town hidden behind a bank on a side street is one of my favorite world class galleries, The Schantz Galleries. I always make it a point to stop in and feast on the eye candy.

William Morris has a nice showing in the gallery at the moment, and he is one of my all-time favorite glass artists…a truly mesmerizing talent, and I could stand there in front of these pieces all day.
If you haven’t figured it out yet, I’m obsessed with surfaces… all kinds of surfaces. From peeling paint, rust, moss-covered rocks etc… these kinds of textures and natural patterns can stop me in my tracks when I come across them. And that obsession continues in my studio. I am constantly trying to replicate those surfaces in my own glass.
William Morris is the King of surface work. I have a few of his huge coffee table books and am always looking to him for inspiration. But books are nowhere near as wonderful as being able to stand in front of these pieces for myself. I felt extremely lucky to see so many in one place. William Morris is retired now, so there are a limited number of works out there.

Here are a few of the pics I took that day… and if you like the work, go spend some time at his website to see more…. or better yet, go see the pieces in person. I’m afraid I spent a lot of time up close with my camera, and didn’t give you more of an idea of the complete forms… but such is my obsession. 🙂

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

