Steve Jobs 1955-2011

So sad to wake up this morning and learn of the passing of Steve Jobs… as I read the news, the tweets, the facebook posts… the word that keeps popping up is visionary….visionary…visionary. And he was. Love him or hate him, he changed the world.

Myself, I loved him. My husband and I bought our first Apple back in 1985… this one… remember this little cutie?


The Apple Macintosh was one of the first Apple computers for consumers. It featured 128 Kb of memory, a graphic user interface, 9 inch monochrome screen 512X342 pixels. Optional 400kb floppy drive for $400 bucks and it cost $2,400. It was a huge investment, and we were in love. We happily switched disks a billion times when playing games on it… and I spent hours drawing pictures in macpaint… we were in awe of it.

Now of course, I’m typing this blog post on a 27″ imac, which cost less than my original macintosh, and will later check my email, brows the web, and read my book on my ipad, and receive a phone call, and probably snap a picture or two on my iphone … my little world wouldn’t be the same without Steve Jobs and his vision.

So thank you Steve… So much…..We will miss you.

 Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round pegs in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They’re not fond of rules. And they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them. About the only thing you can’t do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do…. ~ (Steve Jobs) Apple Inc.

2 comments on “Steve Jobs 1955-2011

  1. Tracy says:

    I also had one of those first computers and wrote 2 of my 4 books on it. I got it second hand and thought it was the most wonderful thing ever.

  2. At the time, it was!!! 🙂 So glad to have been around to see all this leaping technology.

Leave a Reply

