Beads of Courage- Artist On Call….

Just finished my very first assignment for the Artist on call program for Beads of Courage.

It is by far the most complicated bead (for me) I have ever done, and not my very best, but my heart is pounding and I’m exhilarated!! What an experience this is… to make a special request bead for a child, in this case, a 10-year old girl, who is battling cancer.

A bead I have never made before for a very brave,  special little girl.

Her request was for a Golden bird, flying with a red beak, and 3 long tail feathers. She also requested that it have golden claws, which I was unable to do… and I feel badly that it’s not exactly to her specifications, but the claws stumped me…. The entire bird was made in pieces and pre-warmed in the kiln… each wing and the tailfeathers torched separately, and each piece is encased gold leaf….. phew!…..

Please….please…please… may it come out of the kiln in one piece.

I’m hoping and praying that it turns out, and nothing cracked (it was big!) .

 

3 comments on “Beads of Courage- Artist On Call….

  1. Judy says:

    You’re a gifted artist and an amazing talent. I’m sure the bird will exceed expectations. It’s so wonderful that you’re participating as an artist on call!

  2. Kari says:

    Keeping my fingers crossed for both of you that it will turn out just as you want it. This truly is a wonderful program!

  3. I’ll bet it’s amazing and she’ll love it!! If the claws are really bugging you, go to the craft store and get a gold enamel paint pen. But I’ll bet she loves it just as it is.

Leave a Reply

