Fried Mozzarella adventures…

Or….. How I learned not to judge myself too harshly, and feel better about my glass skills.

So this is what happened:

I was reading Pioneer Woman’s blog the other day.
(Always a dangerous time suck) and came across her post about mozzerella sticks.
I’d give you the link right now, but you’ll leave my blog, and get sucked into the P-Dub black hole…
I promise to give you the link in a minute.

So anyway… she has this supposedly fool-proof recipe for homemade mozzarella sticks, and me being a mom who would
love to rock my mozzarella stick obsessed son, I thought “Perfect!” Max will love me forever if I make these!
So I happily went to the grocery store and gathered the ingredients.

Today my dream was to sit down and watch a couple of episodes of The Dollhouse with Max, and partake of deep fried fat sticks…yum.

It wasn’t at all what I thought it would be.
Ree makes everything look so easy…. and it should have been!… I think.
Simple ingredients…. store-bought string cheese… flour…eggs, beaten w/ a little milk… and seasoned panko breadcrumbs…. (my favorite kind of breadcrumbs BTW.)
Everything in that order… dip the cheese into the flour… then the egg.. then the breadcrumbs…. then put those suckers into the freezer to set up.
That was my problem I think… I didn’t freeze them long enough.

(She doesn’t show you her fingers by the way, after processing the 12th stick….look for it when I share the link… which I will… I promise) 🙂
The ends of my fingers looked like breadcrumb covered ping-pong balls… each consecutive dip added 3 mm. of coating to each digit.
She says she’s “keeping it real” but I had a very different reality going on in my house.

So anyway, after frying those suckers up we have this….
I give you……er……. mozzarella splats!

.

Wanna see it up close?

.

.
And the thing is….. they were delicious, if visually unfortunate.
And we ate them.

.

So now, as much as I don’t want to let you see what they were supposed to look like…
Here’s that link.
At least I still know I can work my way around a 2000 degree torch without too much trouble.
I’m starting to think this cooking thing isn’t something I should quit my day job for.

Pioneer Woman’s Mozzarella Sticks:
http://thepioneerwoman.com/tasty-kitchen-blog/2010/05/panko-mozzarella-sticks/

3 comments on “Fried Mozzarella adventures…

  1. Angela says:

    Jenny, I love to read from your kitchen experiments…. They remind me to my own ones… 🙂 Today I hade some with almond macarons… (These cookies with egg foam, sugar and almonds)

    hugs, Angela (btw. I buy the Mozzarella-Sticks “readytofry”…. for security reasons…)

  2. jennifergeldard says:

    Angela… I think I will too from now on.. LOL

  3. dena says:

    Yup, my “splats” tend to look like yours as well, even when I bake them. I finally figured out to time the first batch, pull them out of the oven (or fryer) when I think they are done, then give them a minute. If they start to ooze, subtract 30 seconds from the next batch. Repeat until all the moz sticks are eaten, oozing or not.

    Personally, I think the oozed ones taste much better.

Leave a Reply

