This Dirty Old Disease….

It’s been a year since I lost my mom.
And for those of you that don’t know, I also lost my sister Cindy to Cancer when she was in her 20s.
I capitalized “Cancer” on purpose. My mother also lost her life too early to that disease.
Cancer is a nasty and unforgiving monster… it doesn’t care who you are, how much money you have, what color your skin is…
“This dirty old disease” takes no prisoners. It sucks…. big time. (Not very poetic, but there you go…. it is what it is.)

I took the last year off to get my head together… to explore not only my own heart, but to rest, and to take time to
reassess pretty much everything.
So now I’m trying to get back on track, and starting to make art again.
Making Art is life affirming. Getting going again, and looking toward the future is the best weapon I have.
Tomorrow I start my schedule again. I’m going to try and catalogue my days here.
More blog posts…more updates from the studio.
Not for you, but for me.
Writing down my days makes me feel as if what I’m doing day-to-day means something…. a cataloguing of my days and hours.
Living my dream is affirming my mother and my sister’s dreams.
Embracing life is the only defense I have.

I was watching a youtube video a while ago, and learned that this song by Jason Mraz is about his friend, a Cancer survivor.
When I listen to it in the studio, it uplifts me. Maybe it will do the same for you.
.
It’s all about living your life, and leaning on your friends…as the “remedy” for life’s heartaches.
And it also talks about focusing your energy forward and not to dwell on the negatives.
(BTW… I think this video clip is “illegal” as far as rights go, so in case in the future it gets pulled from Youtube, the song is called “Remedy”) Check it out.

.

Leave a Reply

