A Piece of History…

I was going through all of my mom’s books today. A hard job… going through all of her books. My mom and I had books in common, and out of a wall’s length of bookcases, I kept a good 4 bags of books I wanted to save. … I would have kept more, but I just don’t have room. We had very similar tastes in reading material, and often shared our reading lists. I really miss sharing my literary discoveries with her.

Anyway… in almost every one of her books there was something in there as a bookmark… sometimes just a receipt, or a letter or a personal card… a doctor’s appointment note or an honest-to-goodness bookmark.

Today I found a piece of history.

In a book about the Vietnam War, I found this:

Oct.21st 1967 march on Washington

It stopped me in my tracks.  My mom was very much involved in the Civil rights and Anti-war movements in the 60s, and it brought a proud smile to my face.

I did a little research, and found a bunch of links to that day:

Wikipedia gave me this:

  • In October 1967, Stop the Draft Week resulted in major clashes at the Oakland, California induction center, and saw more than a thousand registrants return their draft cards in events across the country. The cards were delivered to the Justice Department on October 20.
  • The next day, October 21, 1967, a large demonstration took place at the Lincoln Memorial in Washington. As many as 100,000 demonstrators attended the event, and at least 30,000 later marched to the Pentagon for another rally and an all night vigil. Some, including Abbie Hoffman and Jerry Rubin, attempted to “exorcise” and “levitate” the building, while others engaged in civil disobedience on the steps of the Pentagon, interrupted by clashes with soldiers and police. In all, 647 arrests were made. When a plot to airdrop 10,000 flowers on the Pentagon was foiled by undercover agents, these flowers ended up being placed in the barrels of MP’s rifles, as seen in some famous photographs[5]. Norman Mailer documented the events surrounding the march on the Pentagon in his novel, Armies of the Night.

I don’t know if she ended up attending that demonstration or not… I was 2 years old. But I’m proud of her, and I miss her.

One comment on “A Piece of History…

  1. Mallory says:

    Isn’t history amazing! What we didn’t know becomes a hint of what we do know now. Kudos to your Mom!

Leave a Reply

