A Few Random Thoughts…

“I am a frayed and nibbled survivor in a fallen world, and I am getting along. I am aging and eaten and have done my share of eating too. I am not washed and beautiful, in control of a shining world in which everything fits, but instead am wandering awed about on a splintered wreck I’ve come to care for, whose gnawed trees breathe a delicate air, whose bloodied and scarred creatures are my dearest companions, and whose beauty bats and shines not in its imperfections but overwhelmingly in spite of them…”  -Annie Dillard

Over the past weeks I’ve been packing up my mother’s house with my sister.

It has been difficult work…..saying goodbye is very, very hard.

On the other hand, the process of sorting through her life is teaching me how to let go, and I’ve been starting to sort through the flotsam of my own house and clearing out the excess here at home as well. It’s very freeing once I convince myself that I don’t need all this stuff. Of course trying to pry anything in the craft department out of my hands is a whole other story! LOL I can get vicious….watch out!

It’s the strangest thing… with all this emotional introspection, I’ve never been more focused and clear about the direction I want to go with my work, and with my life.  That quote up there at the top of this post is by Annie Dillard. She’s my guru. She has been since I was a teenager. I go to her when I need a little direction. That quote is the inspiration behind  my new work.

frayed and nibbled survivor”… yummy , isn’t it?

4 comments on “A Few Random Thoughts…

  1. Angie Ramey says:

    I’m going to have to look her up, Jen. Those are indeed yummy words!

  2. Linda Sweeney says:

    I think you have sparked a new level of awareness in my soul that I can try to nurture. I tend to attack difficult and emotional tasks with a bull dog nature, stuffing the emotions, and not being able to hear beyond the noise in my head, not being mentally open to recognize the lessons being learned. You, Jennifer, can actually hear yourself think, and I’m envious. I’m going to work on that. That’s what I take away from your blog today and I thank you for sharing.

  3. jennifergeldard says:

    What a lovely compliment Linda!! I wish it were always true… this is all new for me… this slowing down and listening…I’m learning too.

  4. jennifergeldard says:

    Angie… start with Pilgrim at Tinker Creek… it’s my favorite!

Leave a Reply

