Martin Luther King Jr. day…

I have decided to stick with love. Hate is too great a burden to bear.

-Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

I grew up with Martin Luther King Jr. all around me.

My mom was very active in the civil rights movement, and I was surrounded by folks who were activists and friends of Martin’s. It was an amazing time, and I was too young to remember most of it, being born in 1965 , but the lessons of that time worked their way into my heart, and mind.

My mom attended the march on Washington in the summer of 1963, and it changed her life.

It’s such a poignant moment in time to remember Martin Luther King, and to know that he never lived to see the day that his dream was realized. There is a black man sitting in the highest office in the land. He would have been so proud.

And I am proud… to have been lucky enough to grow up in such a charged and loving environment,….. that I would know the significance of this day.

One comment on “Martin Luther King Jr. day…

  1. Teena says:

    I am glad you had a dream!

Leave a Reply

