Tattoos….

face-tattoo-by-bruce-potts-_1_49

…. I was having a discussion with hubby about wanting a tattoo…. I’ve always wanted one…. it’s sort of a tribal thing. And I’m not a tribal gal…. being about as waspish as I can be, but still……it’s a dream.  I want a tatoo, and I’m thinking that I’m old enough….in my 40s, and I hopefully still know my own mind, so I here’s the conversation…..

Me: “I want a tatoo….. maybe on my ankle…”

Hubby: ” I think that’s a good idea: you’ve always wanted one…”

Me: ” I think it wouldn’t change much, being on my ankle, even if  I get old and flabby…:

Hubby: ” Maybe I should get one too!”

Me: but you always said  you didn’t want one…..disfiguring the flesh and all that….”

Hubby: Maybe I’ll get one that says: ” Crap Bag – Banana Hammock”

So here’s the thing… First prize of a bird bead goes to the first person who can not only tell me the source of my hubby’s brilliant response, but the relevence to this  conversation….

Bird is my choice.

-Jen

ps: (Image is a face tattoo by Bruce Potts)

14 comments on “Tattoos….

  1. Phoebe & Mike’s wedding on Friends, when she was Princess Consuela Banana Hammock, saying she loved Mr. Crap Bag?

  2. Rebekah says:

    Phoebe on Friends!!!!! You get a tattoo and he gets a worse one! Hahaha!

  3. Rebekah says:

    I am a Friendsphile, baby.

  4. Kim says:

    Oh that was easy! Translates to Pheobe Buffet and Mike Hannigan. And tell him to properly address you as Princess Consuela Bananahammock. And he should get a Speedo. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=meXfh69ZLZg&NR=1

  5. Kim says:

    Oh yeah, as far as the relevance portion of the question goes….
    perhaps he meant he loves his princess, and you love crap?

  6. Judith says:

    Oh, I know … Friends!
    Phoebe gets married to Mike and instead of changing it into his name (can’t remember) she changes her name to “Princess Consuela Banana-Hammock”.
    Mike is upset and changes his name to “Crap Bag” in return.

    Now … the relevance to your conversation is a different kettle of fish. How about Hubby believes getting a tattoo is stupid (like changing Phoebe’s name was) and if you do something like that, he will do something stupid too?

    Anyways, I think if you always wanted a tattoo, you should get one. Having said that, I got a tattoo laser-removed some years ago. Good idea to think about if you really still like it in 20 years 🙂

    Cheers, Judith

  7. jennifergeldard says:

    ok… so we got the reference, but how does that translate to my hubby’s and my discussion??

  8. Rebekah says:

    He thinks it’s a bad idea so he’s going to out-do you.

  9. jennifergeldard says:

    Ok…so…. the issue is not the tattoo per say….. it’s……? Hint: I’ve been talking about a tattoo for years…. what is Mike really saying about her new name???

  10. Heidi Bond says:

    I think he wants you to leave it alone… unless you want him to get a crap bag tatoo well or a banana hammock tattoo… I don’t know which would be worse. lol

  11. Heidi Bond says:

    or maybe one persons crap is another person’s banana? LOL

  12. jennifergeldard says:

    Congrats to Judith for being the first on my site to completely answer AND get the basic gist of it. Please email me your mailing address!

  13. So are ya gettin’ the tattoo or not???

  14. Annie Simpson says:

    I’m opting for a piercing. Nose. Next month if my nerve holds up.

    Husband and I are saving the tattoos for when we are over 50, already flabby and as a way to really embarrass our kids who would be late high school/early college by then.

Leave a Reply

