Asparagus….

It’s asparagus season here in my little town. I just picked my first round from my own asparagus patch, and roasted them up with olive oil, salt and pepper. There’s nothing like it in the world. Yummmmmm.

DSC02754This time of year is a big deal in my town. A Dutchman named Diederik Leertouwer brought asparagus to our town from his homeland back in the 1780s , and we celebrate that momentous event every year in May. If you didn’t know this yet, I just ADORE my town. So anyway…. this weekend is the annual Asparagus Festival… asparagus, pony rides, flowers, a may dance, and a frog jumping contest are all part of the fun and I’m so looking forward to it!

Here are a few pics from last year to get you in the mood….

5-14-09dThat’s Hubby and his friend 🙂

5-14-09eMaypole Dancers

5-14-09fAnd their beautiful handiwork.

I’ll be there again for sure! Will you?

4 comments on “Asparagus….

  1. Annie in Norway says:

    Just wanted to say I adore your work and have been reading your blog. You have a lovely, chatty writing style and obvious joy in your work and surroundings.

    Re:this particular blog post: The Netherlands from whence came Diederik Leertouer is not Norway. (We all have forehead slapping *doh* moments, my 12 year old calls them brain f@rts). If he’d been from Norway, he’d have been called something like Eirik Bjørnson and brought you lutefisk instead (wiki it) and you wouldn’t be happy. Trust me here, stick with the asparagus, there’s a reason that Norwegians eat more frozen pizza per capita than any other people on the planet.

    Anyhow, I live in Norway and travel through the Netherlands regularly to visit family in the USA, so I’m pretty sure they’re different. *grin*

    Best regards,

    Annie Buchanan Nilsen, fibre artist(e), goldsmith and future lampwork fiend.

  2. jennifergeldard says:

    Oh Dear… my forehead is slapped. Thanks so much for setting the record straight… I’m so happy we have asparagus and not lutefisk… I’ll leave that savory import to the lucky people of Minnesota thankyouverymuch!
    I’ll change the post right away!
    And thanks as well for the lovely compliments! 🙂

  3. jennifergeldard says:

    ps: so he’s a “Netherlander?”… eek! Better go check it out! Off to wiki…

  4. jennifergeldard says:

    Dutch….. Duh (forehead slap).

Leave a Reply

